Flax Seeds – Super Food

A few months ago, my doctor prescribed me birth control. As soon as I got home, I googled what side effects were associated with the particular brand and read way too many reviews. Needless to say, I was scared because some side effects are a bit difficult to live with. 

Now I’m going a bit off topic, the title says “Flax Seeds”. So, why am I talking about birth control? Here’s why: I wear contacts. As it turns out, one of the most common side effects of birth control is difficulty wearing contacts. The birth control affects the moisture in your eyes, making them dry, which makes wearing tiny plastic circles in your eyes very uncomfortable.

I did some research and found that flax seeds help with dry eyes. I ran to the supermarket and bough a container of milled flax seeds. I started putting it in my daily morning cereal. It has absolutely no taste and no texture since it’s milled. It just blends right in with my cereal and milk. I’ve been doing this for about two months. So far, my contacts have gotten a lot easier to wear. Flax seeds have also had an added bonus that I didn’t anticipate.

Last night, I was talking to my friend and I realized how clear my skin looks, and has been looking. This morning, I looked at my face again and tried to remember the last time I had to use tea tree oil to help with a breakout. Wouldn’t you know it, the last time I had a breakout was about two months ago. So, I started thinking what am I doing different? The heat and sweat from summer usually means many more breakouts for me. Then this morning, as I reached for my flax seeds, it hit me. Flax seeds. 

Flax seeds are high in omega-3 fatty acids, which are known for providing healthy skin and hair. So, I am hooked. It’s so easy to incorporate in my diet and it’s helping in so many ways.

Ladies, if you are struggling with your contacts for any reason, or want some healthy skin (who doesn’t?), go to your local supermarket and make a trip to the organic or gluten-free isle and get yourself some flax seed. 

Leave a Reply

